A.P. E.S.
Environmental Quality & Pollution

Bio.

Schedule Dates

State Standards / Objectives


Instructional Activities

Mar 2 (Fri)
 

1) Energy Types Project due
2) Discussion of Energy Types and Trends
3) Discussion of Solar House Project
4) Ch 17 Vocab
5)Take home test ch 16

Mar 5 (Mon)
  1) Take home test due at 1st of period
2) Energy FRQ
3) Give Ch 17 Presentations (ch 17 visuals ppt)
Mar 7 (Wed)
Min. Day
  1) Home Energy Audit Spreadsheet due
2) Ch 17 Vocab Quiz (study on quia) (cumulative back to 13) (if ch 17 words are not in the online glossary, they are not on the quiz. Only 10 words on quiz from ch 17, 5 from 16, 5 from 15, 5 from 14, 5 from 13)
Mar 9 (Fri)
  1) Ch 17 Discussion
2) Take home test Ch 17
3) Home Energy Audit Writeup
Mar 12 (Mon)
  1) Air Pollution FRQ
2) Take Home test due Ch 17
Mar 14 (Wed)
 

1) Ch 18 Outline sections 18-1,2,3,4,5
2) Toxicity, LD50's, & Snake Venom Problems
3) Community Groundwater Simulation from Project WET
4) Ozone Testing
5) ch 11 chemical toxicity questions

Mar 16 (Fri)
  1) Ch 18 Vocab Test
2) Ch 18 Outline sections 18-6,7,8,9 due
3) Ch 11 Risk Toxicity & Human Health due
3) Mrs Zook vs Wyle Labs
4) ch 18 take home
Mar 19 (Mon)
  1) ch 18 take home test due
2) mini frq concerning ch 11 toxicology notes, Mrs Zook's presentation, & Ozone notes
3) discuss writeup for Home energy audit (be ready to ask questions about difficulties encountered)
4) Ch 19 Water Pollution
Mar 21 (Wed)
 

1) home energy audit writeups due
2) Ch 19 Water Pollution
3) Stream Water Quality Study using invertebrates (stream 1, stream 2, stream 3, stream 4, stream 5, stream 6, data sheet, pollution sensitive, somewhat sensitive, & tolerant)
4) Ch 19 Guiding Questions
5) Stream BOD diagram

Mar 23 (Fri)
  1) Ch 19 Outline Due
2) Ch 19 Vocab Test (practice)
3) Discussion of water pollution concepts (used 5 articles from LA Times "oceans in peril": article 1, 2, 3, 4, 5) Know for FRQ on Monday
4) Ch 19 Take Home (make sure your absence on Friday is excused)
Mar 26 (Mon)
  1) Ch 19 Take Home Due
2) FRQ on "Altered Oceans"
Mar 28 (Wed)
  1) Ch 20 Guiding Questions Worksheet
2) Env Sci in the News!
3) Env Sci update from "Inconvenient Truth"
4) NonNative Species Video (20 min)
Mar 30 (Fri)
  1) Ch 20 Outline Due
2) Ch 20 Vocab Test (cumulative to 13)
3) Discussion of Ch 20 concepts (using biological pest control movie)
4) Ch 20 Take Home Test over weedend
April 2
  1) Ch 20 Take Home Due
2) Parking lot data analysis (calculating PS and Ds)
April 4 (Wed)
  1) Problems using PS and Ds
2) Blackworm toxicity lab
3) Ch 21 Guiding Questions and Vocabulary
April 6 (Fri)
  1) Finish Toxicity Lab and hand in questions
2) Finish ch 21 guiding questions & submit
3) Finish your vocab test and submit
4) Take Home ch 21 Test (download a copy for yourself if you didn't get one Friday and have it ready on Monday after break) contact me if it doesn't work for you.
April 11 (Wed) 7 AM
 

Hike up Coal Canyon Road from Green River Road near Grean River Gulf Course

See Pictures of Hike