Dates
State Standards / Objectives
Learning Activities
Sept 6 (1 hr class) Tues
Students will be introduced to the course of A.P.E.S and introduce themselves.

1) Course Syllabus
2) Introductions
3) Reading assignment pp 2-10 (sect 1.1-1.3 )/ "Easy Notes" & "Vocab"

Sept 7 (1 hr class) Wed
Students will explain the relationships between human behavior and environmental problems in terms of sustainability.

1) Groups prepare presentations for chapter 1
2) Vocabulary & Concepts for Ch 1
3) Read 1.4-1.6 / "Easy Notes" & "Vocab"

Sept 8 (2hrs) Thurs
"

1) 1.4-1.6/"Easy Notes" due
2)
Salinization Lab Setup
3) Presentations of Ch. 1
4) Lab Writeup Sheet

Sept 12 (1hr) Mon Students will explain the relationships between human behavior and environmental problems in terms of sustainability.

1) Do hypotheses
2) 20 minutes to finish presentation with group
3) Presentations begin
4) Class Eboards for Vocab Cues

Sept 13 (2 hr) Tues   1) Vocabulary Due
2) Finish presentations
3) Vocab discusssion (adding cues)
4) Take data on "Salinization Lab"
Sept 15 (2 hr) Thurs Students will explain the relationships between human behavior and environmental problems in terms of sustainability. 1) Vocab Test Unit 1
2) $100,000 group project
Sept 19 Mon (1 hr)
Students will relate current environmental issues to environmental history
Sept 20 Tues (2 hr) Students will relate current environmental issues to environmental history. 1) 2nd vocab Ch 1 & 2 accumulative quiz
2) Presentations of key questions and key players
3) Extinction Video (cont.)
Sept 22 Thurs (2 hr)
"

1) Ch 1 & 2 assessment (MC & FR)
2) Class Current Event Posting & Rubric
3) Class Eboard for Posting (summary posted by midnight Sunday)
4) How to write up a lab (Intro & Procedure)

Sept 26 Mon (1 hr) Students will know stability in an ecosystem is a balance between competing effects. 1) Due: Posted ecological article summary & lab writeup of intro & procedure (submit by email kpitts@cnusd.k12.ca.us or by hardcopy)
2) Go over tests
3) Vocabulary & Concepts for Ch 3
4) Assign 3-1 to 3-3 for reading
Sept 27 Tues (2 hr) Students will know stability in an ecosystem is a balance between competing effects. 1) Presentation of difficult concepts in Ch 3
Sept 28 Thurs (2 hr) Students will know stability in an ecosystem is a balance between competing effects. 1) Cumulative vocab exam (1-
Oct 3 Tues (2 hr) Students will know stability in an ecosystem is a balance between competing effects. DUE: Salinization Labs
1) Discussion of peer evaluation
2 Finish Extinction video
3) Vocabulary for CH4
4) biogeochemical cycles
Oct 4 Wed (43 sec) Students will know stability in an ecosystem is a balance between competing effects. 1) Discussion of trophic levels, food chains, food webs, and energy pyramids
Oct 5 Thurs (2 hr) Students will know stability in an ecosystem is a balance between competing effects. 1) Peer Evals Due
2) Work on biogeochemical cycle plays
3) Comparing those pyramids
Oct 10 Mon (1 hr) Students will know stability in an ecosystem is a balance between competing effects. 1) Organization of Life
2) Student presentation of biogeochemical cycles.
Oct 11 Tues (2 hr) Students will know stability in an ecosystem is a balance between competing effects. 1)
2) finish biogeochemical cycles
Oct 13 Thurs (2 hr) Students will know how water, carbon, and nitrogen cycle between abiotic resources and organic matter in the ecosystem and how oxygen cycles through photosynthesis and respiration.

1) Vocab discussion
2) Vocab Test Ch 4 Accum

3) Discussion of "tough concepts" in prep for test on Monday

Oct 17 Mon (1 hr)

Students will know how water, carbon, and nitrogen cycle between abiotic resources and organic matter in the ecosystem and how oxygen cycles through photosynthesis and respiration.

Test over CH 3 & 4
Oct 18 Tues (2 hr)

Students will know how natural selection determines the differential survival of groups of organisms.

Students will know a great diversity of species increases the chance that at least some organisms survive major changes in the environment.

1) Go over test
2) Set up "eco-columns" by custom cutting 6 2-liter bottles
3) Lecture on Earth history timeline and Darwin's 5 ideas of how evolution occurs.
Oct 20 Thurs (2 hr)

Students will know how natural selection determines the differential survival of groups of organisms.

Students will know a great diversity of species increases the chance that at least some organisms survive major changes in the environment.

1) Discussion of the mechanisms of evolution
2) Set up the chambers of the "eco-columns" and take data set 1 for 1st week
3) Easy-Notes for Ch 5
4) How does understanding evolution affect the way humans work to solve environmental problems? Please support your opionion.

Oct 24 Mon (1hr)

Students will know how natural selection determines the differential survival of groups of organisms.

Students will know a great diversity of species increases the chance that at least some organisms survive major changes in the environment.


1)Finish ch 5 discussion


Oct 25 Tues (2 hr)

Students will know how natural selection determines the differential survival of groups of organisms.

Students will know a great diversity of species increases the chance that at least some organisms survive major changes in the environment.

1) Vocab exam accum over ch 5
2) Take data on ecocolumns (water quality)
Oct 27 Thurs (2 hr) Students will know a great diversity of species increases the chance that at least some organisms survive major changes in the environment. 1) Vocab exam (retry)
2) Finish ecocolumn data
3) Video on "Arms Race"/Coevolution of species
Oct 30 Sun (12:00 midnight)   eBoard responses to articles (3 minimum) due
Oct 31 Mon (1 hr)   Ch 5 Questions due
1) biome posters assigned
2) Ch 6 vocab & concepts
Nov 1 Tues (2 hr)   1) biome poster work
2) presentation of biomes to class
Nov 3 Thurs (2 hr)   1) Vocab test cumulative on Ch 6
2) Eboards peer evals due (so they can be on this 9 weeks grade)
Nov 8 Tues (2 hr)   1) Vocab and concepts for ch7
2) Prep & Present
3) Estuaries Video
Nov 10 Thurs (2 hr)   1) Ch 7 vocab accumulative
2) Data taken on Ecocolumns after Vocabulary Exam
Nov 14 Mon (1 hr)   1) Test Review of Ch 5, 6, & 7
2) Hand back graded papers from 5, 6, & 7
Nov 15 Tues (2 hr)   1) Ch 5, 6, & 7 MC Test
2) Begin ch 8 Easynotes
3) Habitat Island Simulation
Nov 17 Thurs (2 hr)   1) FRQ's (Essays on Ch 5,6,&7)
2) Take qualitative data on ecocolumns
Nov 21 Mon (1 hr)   1) Question from Ch 8 due
2) Ch 8 Concepts & Vocabulary
3) Preparation of student presentations for Tuesday
4) Ch 8 online discussions
Nov 22 Tues (2 hr)   1) Island biogeography model
2) Presentations of concepts by students
3) Online response to CH8 articles due by 3:30pm
Nov 23 Wed   Responses to other students due by 3:30 pm
Nov 28 Mon   1) Deer oh Deer (A simulation in Carrying Capacity)
2) Reading & Easynotes for Ch 9-1; 9-2
Nov 29 Tues Students will know how fluctuations in population size in an ecosystem are determined by the relative rates of birth, immigration, emigration, and death. 1) Ch 8 Vocabulary Assessment (Cumulative)
2) Ch 9 Presentations
3) Kaibob Plateau Case Study
4) Easynotes for 9-3; 9-4; 9-5
Dec 1 Thurs  

1) Ch 9 Vocab Assess

Dec 6 Tues   1) Go over vocab and mc tests
2) Review for Ch 8 & 9 Test
Dec 7 Wed   1) Finish Ch 9 review
2) Parasite video
Dec 8 Thurs   1) Ch 10 vocab & concepts
2) Ch 10 presentations
3) Living Planet Portrait of the Earth
Dec 12 Mon   1) "Portrait of the Earth" Video
2) Summarize processes seen in movie using vocabulary words
Dec 13 Tues   1) Test Ch 8 & 9
2) Lab: Soil Porosity and Permeability
Dec 14 Thurs  

1) Ch 11 vocab & concepts
2) student presentations of Ch 11 concepts

3) ECOCOLUMN QUESTIONS DUE ON MONDAY

Dec 19 Mon   1) Prepare presentation of Ch 11 concepts
2) ECOCOLUMN Questions due
Dec 20 Tues   1) Presentations of Ch 11
2) LD 50 toxicity lab on bloodworms
Dec 22 Thurs   1) Vocabulary Test over Ch 10 and Ch 11 & cumulative
2) Ch 10 & 11 take home test given for over break
Jan 9 Mon   1) Ch 10 & 11 take home test due at beginning of period
2) Ch 12 concepts & vocabulary
Jan 10 Tues   1) "Pop" quiz on reading ch12 through 12.3
2) presentations of Ch 12 concepts
Jan 12 Thurs   1) Vocabulary Quiz
2) Obituaries Lab (Comparing survivorship now vs 100 yrs ago)
Jan 17 Tues   1) Obituary data due
2) Posting summaries due before class on eBoard discussion
3) Ch 13 concepts & vocab
Jan 19 Thurs   1) Response to 3 postings due by beginning of period.
2) Presentations of Ch 13
3) Ch 12 & 13 take home test
4) Peer evals due by Sunday evening at midnight
Jan 26 Thurs  

Semester Final

Vocabulary List for Semester